Galactic Suburbia put out their Annual Award… and I’m on the Honors List

I had a medical procedure yesterday – nothing serious, but rather painful. And I’ve spent the last 24 hours “enjoying” the cramps and stabbing feelings, and making copious use of naps/painkillers.

I woke up from my nap an hour ago, rather dazed, and checked my inbox.

… And apparently this blog is on the honours for the Galactic Suburbia Award.

Kristen Bell sloth GIF

The first response from me, upon opening Alex’s email, was: “WHAT JUST HAPPENED IN MY INBOX?”

Then I fell back onto the bed, convinced that the painkillers were giving me hallucinations.

Followed by me listening to the latest Galactic Suburbia podcast in full, and realizing that no – this was definitely not a hallucination.

And then I fell on the bed again.

Stitch fake death GIF lilo and stitch

GUYS. WOMEN. PEOPLE OF ALL GENDERS.

DO YOU KNOW
HOW MUCH
I LOVE
GALACTIC SUBURBIA?
(as evidenced by my explosion of SQUEE when they were nominated for the Hugos last year)

I’m being calm about this. So: Galactic Suburbia is a feminist speculative fiction podcast. A Hugo-nominated feminist speculative fiction podcast, to be precise!

They have a yearly award for activism and communication that advances the feminist conversation in the field of speculative fiction in 2012.  

… and I am on the honors list.

Barney's Head Explodes GIF

Barney’s Head Explodes HIMYM

Clearly I have not yet gotten to the “acceptance” phase of the process.

I remember hearing Galactic Suburbia calling for nominations for the award in their last episode. And my reaction was something along the lines of: ” I hope that in a couple years, I’m producing commentary good/interesting enough to be considered for the shortlist.”

Manny Modern Family GIF

THIS BLOG IS NOT EVEN ONE YEAR OLD. I’m a college student rambling on the internet when I should be sleeping/doing homework.

…I’m speechless.

Here is the full Award, with the Winner and the Honours list:

Winner: Elizabeth Lhuede for the Australian Women Writers Challenge. Lhuede created the Australian Women’s Writers Challenge to respond to the inequity in women’s work being read, reviewed and treated seriously in Australia. In the lead up to 2012, Australia’s National Year of Reading, Lhuede decided to do something to help redress this imbalance and raise awareness of Australian Women’s Writing. Lhuede created the AWW to encourage people to examine their reading habits, and commit to reading and reviewing more books by Australian women throughout 2012.

Honours List: 

Kirstyn McDermott, for the creation of the female stick figure in an episode of her podcast, the Writer and the Critic (episode 19). McDermott pointed out that the standard stick figure is not inherently male nor female, and so created a female stick figure – which looks exactly like the male stick figure, but with a female stick figure after it – bringing attention to the idea of the male as default.

Julia Rios for her podcasts and discussions about moving beyond the 101 – feminism 101, sexuality 101 etc.

Genevieve Valentine for starting the discussion about sexual harassment at SF/F conventions. Specifically, for blogging about how the Readercon Board ignored its zero-tolerance harassment policy when she reported being sexually harassed by a Big Name Fan. As Alisa Krasnostein on Galactic Suburbia put it, the conversation led to enormous fallout, but as a result, policies for conventions have changed, and people have started looking at what we want SF/F fandom to be like, in terms of safety

The phenomenon of (and the arguments AGAINST) the Fake Geek Girl - specifically, for the spectacular responses to (mostly) men complaining about Fake Geek Girls. There were too many posts and responses to choose just one for the shortlist, but the discussion around whether women can be “real geeks” has been fascinating conversations on the internet.

Jim Hines (returning nominee!) for his modeling of how SF/F covers portray women in unrealistic ways. Hines brings attention to the issue by trying to replicate the poses himself – and recently used his posing to raise lots and lots of money for the Aicardi syndrome foundation. Humor and fundraising and feminist social issues, all at once!

Anita Sarkeesian for her TEDx talk, where she discusses her experience of the internet harassment she experienced as a result of her kickstarter project Tropes v. Women in Video Games.

The Hawkeye Initiative - a tumblr that brings attention to the way women are portrayed in comic book art. In the Hawkeye Initiative, people redraw comic art that depicts women in horrible ways… with Hawkeye – thus transposing the pose from the female body to the male body, and showing how ridiculous the poses are in the first place.

Seanan McGuire for her blog post Thing I Will Not Do to my Characters, in which she discusses why she will never write her female characters being raped. This was a response to a fan saying that if McGuire doesn’t depict her female characters getting raped, it wouldn’t be realisitc.

Liz Bourke for her Sleeps With Monsters column on Tor.com.

The Girl Who Wrote a Letter to Hasbro about how if she picked a female character in Guess Who, it was really easy for her opponent to win because there were many more male characters than female characters on the board. Led to some really important conversations about gender issues in board games for children.

Geena Davis for her activism and analysis in the field of children’s television, and more specifically for a speech on gender equality in children’s television.

An honorary mention for the Australian Prime Minister, Julia Gillard, for her speech against misogyny in parliament this year. 

Oh, and, er… me.

The more I listened to Alex, Tansy and Alisa talking about the Award list on the podcast, the more my brain exploded. I’m on an honours list with Seanan McGuire and Jim C. Hines and Genevieve Valentine and Anita Sarkeesian and Liz Bourke and Julia Rios and Elizabeth Lhuede and Kirstyn McDermott.

Mulan tea pouring GIF

Martha Jones GIF

Like I said earlier, this blog has been running for less than a year. And I can’t… quite express how amazing it is that Galactic Suburbia think my work belongs on a list with these people, who have done so much inspiring, brilliant work on issues of  gender in the world of speculative fiction and fandom.

I feel extraordinarily honored to be on this list, with these people (and the Hawkeye Initiative/the Fake Geek Girl Discussion!). Thank you so much to Galactic Suburbia for including me. And thank you to Celia Powell, who I believe nominated me).

Steven Colbert GIF
Now if you’ll excuse me, I think I need to indulge in some celebratory SQUEEEING.
… and get more painkillers.

****

(Galactic Suburbia’s full episode is here)

(I will update the blog with the exact descriptions of the winner and honors list just as soon as they are out).

(Also, if you’re not listening to Galactic Suburbia, and you’re interested in gender issues and/or SF/F… you should consider listening. They’re delightful and inspiring and they make my walk to campus much more enjoyable)


4 Comments on “Galactic Suburbia put out their Annual Award… and I’m on the Honors List”

  1. dawnofthenerds says:

    Congratulations!! You deserve this award, your commentary on books and pop culture and everything is phenomenal, and you’ve introduced me to tons of authors I may never have tried otherwise. You rock!

  2. Renay says:

    Congratulations! :)

  3. Ian says:

    Nothing to say except “congrats” and “you deserve it”, so…congratulations. You totally deserve it. :)

  4. ninjanurse says:

    I’m terribly jealous and also very happy for you. Women are the Queens of All Dimensions. Congratulations!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 669 other followers